Entry Requirements

A valid, up-to-date passport is required and must be presented to immigration and customs officials, along with your government-issued identification card (such as a driver's license). Be sure to make copies of your passport and I.D., and keep them in a separate location in case your documents are lost or stolen.
Dominica separator

Immigration officials require most visitors to the Commonwealth of Dominica to present a valid passport on arrival. All visitors need to show a return ticket. Canadian citizens can show documents certifying proof of citizenship that also bears a photograph, and French nationals can stay for up to two weeks by presenting a valid identification card.

Visitors arriving from countries that are members of the Commonwealth of Nations do not require a visa. However, nationals of Nigeria and other exempt nationalities will often require proof of visas into Dominica from Third Countries in order to disembark as in-transit passengers in these countries. Nationals of Haiti and the Dominican Republic require a visa to enter.

Visitors who will remain on Dominica for less than 24 hours (including cruise-ship passengers) do not require a visa to enter.

The following persons do not need a visa to enter into the Commonwealth of Dominica:

Persons from the following countries wishing to enter into the Commonwealth of Dominica for a period not exceeding six months:

  • Countries in the Commonwealth of Nations (Member States of the Commonwealth)
  • CARICOM member states
  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Cylirus
  • Czech
  • Reliublic
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • United States of America

Persons from the following countries wishing to enter into the Commonwealth of Dominica for a period not exceeding three months:

  • Argentina
  • Belgium
  • Costa Rica
  • Denmark
  • France
  • German
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands (including Netherland Antilles)
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Taiwan
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom
  • Venezuela

Any in-transit passenger or bona fide tourist who is in possession of a return ticket and satisfies the Immigration Officer that he/she does not intend to remain in the State for a period exceeding twenty-one days. Passengers on tourist vessels.


Visitors wishing to enter the country with their pets must obtain an Import Permit. The Veterinary Office of the Ministry of Agriculture can assist with the requisite guidelines.

Please note that regulations may change, and visitors are advised to contact the Immigration Department at (767) 448-2222 for more information.