Transports sur l'île

Dominica separator

Taxi

Des taxis sont disponibles aux aéroports et à Roseau et peuvent être réservés pour sillonner toute l’île. Ils sont facilement identifiables grâce aux lettres H, HA ou HB qui précèdent le n° d’immatriculation sur leur plaque minéralogique. Les tarifs sont standards entre la ville et les 2 aéroports. De l’aéroport Douglas-Charles à Canefield/ Roseau/ Newtown Portsmouth/ Picard : 65 $ EC (= dollar des Caraïbes orientales) ou 26 $ US. De l’aéroport Douglas-Charles à Carib Territory/ Concorde/ Atkinson/ Calibishie : 40 $ EC ou 15 $ US; jusqu’à Castle Comfort/ Loubiere/ Wallhouse : 70 $ EC ou 28 $ US. Et jusqu’à Salisbury/ Batalie/ Coulibistrie/ Colihaut : 100 $ EC ou 40 $ US. De Canefield à Roseau : 25 $ EC.

Location de voitures

Il y a un grand nombre d’agences de location de voitures sur l’île. Mais avant de prendre la route, vous devrez acheter un permis local au prix de 30 $ EC (12 $ US). Pour pouvoir obtenir ce permis, vous devez avoir entre 25 et 65 ans, avec au moins deux ans de conduite. La circulation est à gauche et la plupart des routes sont bien entretenues.

Bus 

La Dominique dispose d’un système de transport en commun fiable, basé sur des minibus appartenant pour la plupart à des opérateurs privés. Les arrêts de bus sont bien signalisés à différents endroits de la ville selon votre destination. Les tarifs des bus sont standards et vont de 1,50 $ EC à 10,25 $ EC selon l’itinéraire emprunté. Les rotations des bus sont assez fréquentes tout au long de la journée mais ils ne fonctionnent pas la nuit.

Island Transportation

Dominica separator

Taxi Service

Taxis are available at the airports and in Roseau, and can be arranged all over the island. They are easily identified by the letters, H, HA or HB preceding the registration numbers on the number plates. There are standard fees from the city to both airports. The fare from the Melville Hall Airport to Canefield/ Roseau/ Newtown Portsmouth/ Picard is EC$65 or US $26. From Melville Hall Airport to the Carib Territory/ Concorde/ Atkinson/ Calibishie is EC$40 or US$15; to Castle Comfort/ Loubiere/ Wallhouse is EC$70 or US$28 and to Salisbury/ Batalie/ Coulibistrie/ Colihaut is EC$100 or US$40. From Canefield to Roseau EC$25.

Car Rentals

There are a number of car rental agencies on the island offering vehicles for rent. But before you get on the road, you will need to obtain a driver's license which cost $30 (US$12). You must be between 25 and 65 years old, with two years' driving experience to qualify for a driver's permit. Traffic use the left side of the road, most of which are well maintained.

Bus Service

Dominica has a reliable public transportation system consisting of primarily private minibus operators. Bus stops can be found at designated points throughout the city depending on your destination. The bus fares are standardized and ranges from EC$1.50 to EC$10.25 according the specific route. Bus rotation is fairly frequent throughout the day, but this method of transportation is not suitable for night travel.